Why can’t black girls grow out their hair but black guys can?

Dreads have really been more popular in recent year as you can see with Lil Wayne and many pro athletes. But what has always baffled me is how can black men easily grow their hair out long as shit to get corn rows or dreads while most black women can barely grow their hair out more than 6 inches. That’s why extensions, weaves, and wigs are more used amongst african american women. Shouldn’t it be the other way around?  I know Beyonce and Mary J Blige just didn’t naturally wake up to long bouncy white girl hair. I’m sure there are many thousands of dollars invested in their hair to make it long and bouncy. Most black girls can shake their head and their hair stays the same while Beyonces flows freely with the movement.  I find it unfair to black women because they should be the ones that can grow nice long flowy hair while the men should have the short hair. I’m not racist I just interpret things as I see them. I even make fun of myself and my own race. So dont take offense if you’re black.

15 responses to “Why can’t black girls grow out their hair but black guys can?

  1. I see exactly what your say. Me being a black man with much longer hair than that of my female relatives, i cant help but wonder why it just grows so much more faster. But there are mant factors to this: it could be the mis-use of harsh chemicals to the hair that make it more manageable or even bone straight,suchas perms and relaxers. Most black men dont go through this “ritual” if theyre just getting braids or dreads. Another factor could be genes, hair growth can be determined by just that. If they are multiracial like say if the have some sort of native indian in their blood, that could determine how long the hair is willing to grow. But I must admit i have seen some black women with long hair so its not true to say this happens to ALL black women.

  2. I used to always wonder this too! I think what the brother before said is true. I have also heard that protein makes hair stronger, which means less breakage, and in general men eat more meats and foods high in protein than women.
    Not sure if it’s true but that could be one explanation!

  3. The problem is exactly the comparison of the two photos. As you can see wayne, like many other men, don’t wear relaxers like the young woman in the photo. Many African American women start out very young with relaxers (I was one of them), The habitual use of the chemicals delay the growth in most cases, along with extreme heat (flat irons, hot combs, etc). Genetics also play a big part in hair growth (If the gene was given to you to produce more hair at a faster rate). It has very little to do with the sex of the individual, and this is a very general assumption. I would suggest stop using harsh chemicals and/or extreme heat. Allow yourself to get to know the true texture of your natural hair. I’m sure you would see the difference:)

    Keierra

  4. people….mens hair grows faster no matter where it is on their bodies..THEIR HAIRIER DAMMIT…just naturally are. And their hair seems to grow longer because they dont put silly ass perms and crap in it. They leave their hair the way God intended it to spout out; in a spiral shaft, not a straight one. Of course if you dont comb your hair, I.e. dreads, the dead ends wont ever go away, hence length will come faster. And i have dreads…and my hair is long. and im a black young lady of 17. STOP PERMING YALL DAMN HAIR. Be what God made you. black people dont have straight hair. Were lucky. We are the most physically unique race.

  5. I definately believe genes play a major role and how well you care for your hair.My female relatives always have had long hair naturally.My sister decided to go natural and dread her hair.She first cut it and it measured to only 3 inches.A few years later it’s reaches all the way to her buttocks.So I beleieve how long your hair grows is definately genetic and how well you eat and maintain it.I know men that can’t grow their hair for anything.

  6. I am one of those black women who can grow hair and I can understand your question. There are many factors involved. One many black woman have not learned that hair is individual and because we are all different ethnic mixes, our hair isn’t the same. One washing and conditioning is the key. I actually wash my hair daily but I use a conditioner like pantene pro v (green) for dry damaged hair. Black hair is very fragile and needs moisture. You don’t have to limit the amount of time to washing your hair once a week or once every two weeks, if you make sure to use the right products and condition it.
    2) stay away from products made for so called “black” hair. A lot of times it is made with too much grease, mineral oil and petrolatum. There are many whites who have similar textures. Stop with the grease, and the oils and switch to hair lotions.
    3)if you heat style and use spray and gel, wash it out before applying heat the next day. You can’t use alcohol on your hair, and use high heat to curl it again and expect fragile hair to remain. It will fall off.
    4. Stay out of the salons that kill your hair with styles that will last for “weeks” or until the next appointment.
    5. Everyone cannot wear braids and if you do don’t leave them in for months and expect not to suffer hair loss.
    6. Stay away from those flat, bone straight, greasy styles. Be happy with the volume and try to maintain some of it when styling.

  7. Everything that everyone has said about chemicals and the such is true but no one has touched on one thing that you said: I find it unfair to black women because they should be the ones that can grow nice long flowy hair while the men should have the short hair.

    What makes you think that all black women everywhere want long flowy hair? And who said that long flowy hair is the kind of hair that should be grown? My mother’s hair is short, my aunt’s hair is short, my friends’ have short hair, and they are all beautiful. They have short hair not because they cannot grow it (because they can), but because it looks good.
    The thing that pisses me of about beyonce and all of those black female entertainers is that they purposely alter their identities. they are black women and it is not natural to have super-long, super-blond, super-straight hair. And im glad its not, because short looks the best.
    What if i had said, “i feel bad for all these white girls who cant have short thick, healthy hair.”

  8. yeye wateva..who cares…lil wayne is the best.. nuthin else
    ihih

  9. http://www.youtube.com/user/sylver2

    Put a picture of her hair beside Lil Wayne.

  10. Where did you get the picture of the young lady? I hope it was with permission because is my first cousin. hmmm…

  11. Who in the hell wants lil wayne’s hair?

  12. so true relaxed and natural women can have long hair depending on how they take care of it
    men’s hair are usualy in braids or dread and retain length while women sometimes over style therefore retain less its not about growth its retain the length

    I am nigerian and have long hair because I keep it moisturized

  13. so true relaxed and natural women can have long hair depending on how they take care of it
    men’s hair are usualy in braids or dread and retain length while women sometimes over style therefore retain less its not about growth its retain the length

    I am nigerian and have long natural hair because I keep it moisturized and sealed with oil

    and sylver2 hair is still always bangin relaxed and healthy

  14. DreadHeadlionSon

    I think growing hair is a thing of patience
    I recently jut cut my hair because I was tired of it
    after 3 years I was not prepared for the responsiblities that long hair brings so it had to go

    I think your spirit and faith will do you more good for hair growth than any drug.

    just keep waiting and keep your faith it will come

  15. serously as a young black woman i agree and i am really happy to that the speaker can speak her and i would to thank her

Leave a Reply

