50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind answered by Me

I like to read life development blogs every morning and came across this set of life provoking questions by Marc and Angel Hack Life.  You can check out the original post here: 50 Questions that will Free Your Mind. I’ve answered all the questions here:

1.   How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

  • I’d say 21. I haven’t accomplished yet what I would have liked to do by the time I was 26 plus I look alot younger.

2.   Which is worse, failing or never trying?

  • The risk taking entrepreneurial side of me would say never trying and just go balls out on everything but honestly there is a part of me and I believe everyone that is sometimes hesitant to dive into things because of fear of failure.

3.   If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

  • Because others influence us into believing those things are the right way and that we should be content with it. Also because many of us are afraid to separate from the crowd

4.   When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

  • No I refuse to. But when I get old with grand kids I want to be able to tell them tons of fascinating stories about the things I’ve done.

5.   What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

  • Right now I believe teachers should be paid more. Teachers have the responsibility of molding the future of the world but their professions are not as highly respected compared to desk jockeys, accountants, IT professionals who don’t have nearly the same amount of responsibility.

6.   If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

  • What will ultimately make me happy is to have a healthy family and raise my kids to pursue their passions. And also be around long enough to see my grand kids. But as far as work, running my own business would make me happy.

7.   Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

  • This summer I took the first step in starting my own business and working my way to be able to quit my job. Some weeks I do get complacent and catch myself not doing anything for my business while expecting my web developer to do everything. But I can’t imagine making a career out of what I’m doing now so I am striving to do what I believe in.

8.   If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

  • Being 26 and only 14 more years to go I’d first quit my job, travel to the homeland in the Philippines and explore the country instead of just meeting relatives like the last time I went. Then I’d go after my dream of running my own business, have kids, teach them what I know, then hopefully be able to hand my business down to them before I pass away. To sum it up I’d go after everything I want with no regrets or hesitation.

9.   To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

  • Everybody has control over their own life but not everybody has steered their life in the direction they would like to be.

10.  Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

  • Doing the right things but I should worry a little more about doing things right. Last week I saw Anthony Bourdain go to Japan and his guide was explaining how paying close attention to details is so crucial to everything the Japanese do. I feel I should do the same but still keep my eye on the big picture.

11.  You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?

  • Honestly I’d make sure they would get along with my friend before taking him along. But if it did happen I’d definitely confront them and possibly leave.

12.  If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

  • Find your passion, hold onto it, go after it, and don’t let anyone or anything get in your way.

13.  Would you break the law to save a loved one?

  • Like Prison Break? Maybe not that far but I’d J walk, go over the speeding limit, or even beat someone up.

14.  Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

  • I haven’t but for me creativity has turned into insanity. Sometimes when I get ideas I can’t sleep and just stay up jotting ideas and researching possibilities. I wish I could keep that level of excitement going everyday.

15.  What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

  • I constantly ask How instead of Why? I don’t complain about problems but think of solutions instead. Even the most common little problems I ask how I can make it better? That allows me to come up with most of the ideas I have whether they’re stupid or genius.

16.  How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?

  • Because I don’t aim to please everybody. Many success guru’s claim that trying to please everybody equals failure.

17.  What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?

  • Making a living running my own business. I’ve had side businesses here and there but nothing yet to make a living off of. The only thing that’s holding back is fear of failure. I’m afraid if I go after my dream with a full head of steam and fail I would have no chance to regain what I already have.

18.  Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?

  • My day job and shyness. I don’t think anybody is simply just shy or just doesn’t talk much. We all have something to say but just don’t always say it. I notice that I’m more liked and admired when I am not shy and just being my goofy self.

19.  If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

  • I’d move to Cali because most of my family lives there. I wasn’t raised close to my cousins, aunts and uncles when I grew up. I’d like my kids to grow up around their family.

20.  Do you push the elevator button more than once?

  • Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster? No but I push it twice just to make sure its stopping at my floor.

21.  Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?

  • A joyful simpleton. The whole purpose of life is to find happiness why pass it up to be smart?

22.  Why are you, you?

  • Because I like to make people laugh, I thrive on finding solutions to problems, and I think farting is funny.

23.  Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

  • This past year I’d say no. I haven’t been mean to my friends or a bad friend but since I’ve moved in October I haven’t kept in touch with my friends like I should. I think I’ll make it a goal of mine to just to stay in touch with a friend everyday just by texting or saying hi.

24.  Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?

  • I’d say losing touch with a good friend that lives near you. You can always keep in touch and visit a good friend that moves away. Growing up one of my best friends was my neighbor who lived right across the street. We’d play together everyday after school until we hit puberty and playing ninjas wasn’t the cool thing to do anymore. We started hanging out with different crowds but in high school we had a class together during my junior year and we acted like we barely even knew each other. Looking back I believe it was stupid to let something small like musical taste and wardrobe let a friendship drift apart.

25.  What are you most grateful for?

  • EVERYTHING! To have a healthy life, able brain, 4 limbs, can walk, breathe, and live. I’m also grateful for my loving family and girlfriend. Grateful to have a job and grateful to be able to make any decision I want in life.

26.  Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

  • Never be able to make new ones. The possibility to make new lasting memories drives me to strive everyday.

27.  Is is possible to know the truth without challenging it first?

  • If you know the truth before challenging it then someone has already found the answer, therefore you would be following.

28.  Has your greatest fear ever come true?

  • Nope and I hope it doesn’t anytime soon. My greatest fear is my mother dying before I become successful, have a family, and give back just as much as she has given to me.

29.  Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?

  • No I never dwell on past upsets or thinking shoulda coulda woulda. I try to learn from the situation as much as I can and move on. I don’t really get mad or upset at all.

30.  What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?

  • My 6th birthday was my happiest childhood memory. Our whole backyard was filled with friends and kids from all over the neighborhood, I had a clown face painting, a magician, and even a cop to teach us about crossing the street and riding our bikes.

31.  At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

  • I’d say around April when I first got the idea for my new business venture Soundcrave. My planner/idea book was filled for 3 weeks with notes and ideas going 100mph in my brain.

32.  If not now, then when?

  • If I don’t go after what I want now I may not have the same chance 5-10 years from now. My biggest window of opportunity is now and its closing little by little everyday.

33.  If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?

  • Nothing really, I don’t have any kids to support, no mortgage to pay, and no medical conditions to take care of.

34.  Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

  • Not really. I usually think they’re being stuck up or shy when the other person doesn’t say anything

35.  Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?

  • Because they only support love amongst people of the same religion.

36.  Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?

  • If you’re religious yes

37.  If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?

  • Right now?? Yup! but I would still go after my goal of running a successful business.

38.  Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?

  • More work that I enjoy doing. When you enjoy what you doing working hard comes easy and is actually fun sometimes.

39.  Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?

  • Yes every Mon-Fri except for days off. I need to get out of this cycle

40.  When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

  • I’d say last year at the start of 2008. I had an idea to provide music programming for stores like Muzak. I talked to everybody I knew business wise and got good feedback. But that business is kind of iffy because the big dog in music programming Muzak is on the verge of bankruptcy and drowning in fees from the major labels. It did allow me to come up with my current venture though.

41.  If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

  • My parents of course, my girlfriend, close friends, and family.

42.  Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?

  • Nope. I don’t think I’m ugly plus I feel awkward being the center of attention so I don’t really care to be famous.

43.  What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

  • Being alive is just putting enough effort to get by everyday but not suffering and truly living is passionately going after your dream and aspirations and enjoying the journey every inch along the way.

44.  When it is time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?

  • If you know in your heart that it’s right and it’s what will truly make you happy there’s no reason to calculate risk and reward. The only calculating you should do is to figure out if it will truly make you happy.

45.  If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?

  • Because of the consequences. Whether it is from your boss, spouse, monetary loss, or loss of time there are always consequences for mistakes. The key is to learn from those mistakes and not make the same mistake twice.

46.  What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

  • I’d be goofier around everybody. I’m funny and goofy around close friends but with other people I can be seen as quiet. I notice that I’m more liked when I’m my funny self but sometimes I’m afraid to offend people or turn people off with my sense of humor.

47.  When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?

  • I never really pay attention to my breathing except when I can’t breathe. So I guess during the spring when I had allergies.

48.  What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?

  • I love my life, my parents who gave me life, my girlfriend, my close friends, and my dog. Openly expressing love is something I need to work on more. I would hate for an bad instance to happen and I never get to express to those people how I feel before they go.

49.  In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?

  • Yesterday was Monday so nope, Sunday just went to church so nope, Saturday cleaned and ate sushi so nope either. I guess my life should be more exciting.

50.  Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

  • I make decisions for myself. There are people that influence my decisions but I always make sure the outcome is what will make myself ultimately happy not others first.

Conclusion.

I’m 26 and will hopefully live till my 80’s so I have about 50 years left. Life is short and I’ve already lived 1/3 of it. I want to make the other 2/3rd’s memorable and be someone that my kids will be proud to speak of years after I’ve passed. There’s no reason to waste years away years doing something that doesn’t make me ultimately happy. This is life, right now this moment, and I’m going to live it!

Leave a Reply

